top of page
Search
bshrum27

The Bills Keep Coming... (post #11)

Updated: Jan 10, 2022

One thing that they don't warn you about when you have a miscarriage, is the bills. Everybody talks about how expensive having a child is between the delivery fees and hospital stays and all the appointments leading up to having your child. However, nobody talks about how expensive having a miscarriage is.


From the time I found out I was pregnant until it was confirmed that everything had passed I had 4 ultrasounds, 1 full panel of blood work, 1 A1C check, and 4 beta-HCG levels taken. That's not to mention 2 appointments of meeting with a nurse practitioner, and 2 appointments of meeting with my OB.


I don't remember the exact dollar amount that was spent in hospital bills, but I do know that today, almost exactly 3 months from the day that I found out there was no heartbeat, I received yet another bill.


None of this compares to the fact that if I would have had the D&C surgery we would have been looking at close to $3,500 out of pocket for JUST. THE. SURGERY. That wouldn't have included all of the labs, ultrasounds, and appointments I would have had as well.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page