top of page
Search
bshrum27

The Storm Continues (post #4)

Updated: Jan 10, 2022

August 20th, 2021 - Part II


12:00 pm - First dose of the medication


I got home, changed into my comfy clothes, grabbed some snacks, and headed for the couch. I took the first dose of medication, now it was just a waiting game for it to start working. I was numb. The extent of what was about to happen hadn’t set in. We turned on the tv and spent the day watching and waiting.


I spent the day waiting for the terrible cramps that they warned me I would have. I waited for the bleeding that they warned me could cause me to go to the ER. At the end of the day, there was nothing.


I was scared the medicine wasn’t going to work for me. I was scared that I would have to do the surgery regardless of what we had chosen to do.


August 21st, 2021


12:00 am - Second dose of the medication


I got up at midnight to do the second dose of medication. I laid in bed afterwards just waiting and praying that it started to work.


Saturday was another day of laying around, waiting for the medication to do what it was supposed to do.


I worried that we made the wrong decision and should have just gotten the D&C over with Friday so that we could start moving forward instead of just sitting around all weekend.


August 23rd, 2021


8:00 am


I got to work and immediately called the OB office to let them know that I wasn’t sure my meds had worked. I told her about the minimal bleeding and the very minimal cramping. She assured me she would pass the info on to my doctor and she would call me back.


8:30 am


The nurse from the OB office called me back and informed me that my doctor wanted me to come in around 1:00 for another ultrasound to check to see if the meds had worked and that if they hadn’t, I would be taken right in for a D&C. I called my husband and let him know what I had been told. I am very thankful that his job was understanding of him needing to leave work so that he could be there for me.


1:00 pm


I walk into the OB office yet again, for yet another ultrasound. My fourth one in just 3 weeks. This time I wasn’t sure how to feel about what we would see on the screen. I wasn’t sure that I wanted to see our baby on the screen because that would mean surgery, but I also felt absolutely awful about hoping my baby wasn’t there.


The ultrasound showed that the medicine had in fact done what it was supposed to do. My baby was gone. I was no longer pregnant.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page